Melonpan

I found out yesterday that Midvalley’s in-house bakery in JJ sells melonpan.Melon buns!

Naturally, I was delighted, nevermind Dad muttering under his breath about dinner later, how it’d ruin my appetite to say nothing of the ice-cream he was about to buy us while he shook his head, or Fern frowning and calling me “greedy” for buying two of the little buns (she settled for one mayo hotdog).

A quick note about melonpan: I watched this anime called Shakugan no Shana, which had a heroine called Shana that went around eating melonpan for a huge part of the series. She’d eat it at lunch, for snacks, in childhood flashbacks — probably for 3/4ths of her meals and significant on-screen time, for that matter. And look really adorable while doing it, too.

……………………………………..________
………………………………,.-‘”……………….“~.,
………………………..,.-”……………………………..“-.,
…………………….,/………………………………………..”:,
…………………,?………………………………………………\,
………………./…………………………………………………..,}
……………../………………………………………………,:`^`..}
……………/……………………………………………,:”………/
…………..?…..__…………………………………..:`………../
…………./__.(…..“~-,_…………………………,:`………./
………../(_….”~,_……..“~,_………………..,:`…….._/
……….{.._$;_……”=,_…….“-,_…….,.-~-,},.~”;/….}
………..((…..*~_…….”=-._……“;,,./`…./”…………../
…,,,___.\`~,……“~.,………………..`…..}…………../
…………(….`=-,,…….`……………………(……;_,,-”
…………/.`~,……`-………………………….\……/\
………….\`~.*-,……………………………….|,./…..\,__
,,_……….}.>-._\……………………………..|…………..`=~-,
…..`=~-,_\_……`\,……………………………\
……………….`=~-,,.\,………………………….\
…………………………..`:,,………………………`\…………..__
……………………………….`=-,……………….,%`>–==“
…………………………………._\……….._,-%…….`\


With all that in mind, as time passed I kept on wondering if it really tasted that good. Hence the curiosity and further purchase of the melonpan. It wasn’t a disappointment, to say the least. The melonpan tasted faintly of melon, with a sugary, crisp crust on top that contrasted with the soft, chewy dough below. Not too bad for something that cost around RM1.70 a piece.

And a subsequent close-up.

And like some tourist all fascinated, naturally, I took a few pictures. There were other flavours, but being rather keen on the virgin experience of eating melonpan I didn’t feel like tainting my tastebuds with other, probably disagreeable flavours till I’d tried the real thing.

Ice-cream 5 minutes after that was decent, as most ice-creams are. It’s this little stall in the midst of other little stalls on the ground floor, same level as the JJ bakery; with this white guy of indeterminable ethnic origin that scoops the ice-cream out with this long and thin rapier-like scoop, and onto a cone deftly. The name of the place’s Madoma, but as I was holding onto my phone and cone at the same time, I couldn’t manage better shots. Pretty hard to miss, though.

Ice-creammmmmmm.

Had something I heard as “chocolate cheese” for the white one, and a random berry concoction of something for the purple. Found out later I heard wrongly, and the white one was vanilla or something. After getting all excited about the melonpan (which I ate afterwards) the ice-cream didn’t seem to register on my tongue that much; it tasted, well, like vanilla and berry, but with a lot less air inside.

Thus ended the first day of Chinese New Year, which, when compared to getting stuck in hour-long traffic in the blazing heat, definitely was a lot better. Dad never stays at Kampar anyway, so the guys end up coming back after fetching the women of the family over. More on that tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: E/N

2 Comments on “Melonpan”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I haven’t had icecream in years. Atleast not, you know, ICE-CREAM PARLOR icecream.

    That icecream looks delicious but so oddly scooped. I’m used to my icecream being ROUNDED. One of the groceries around here had melonpan; I thought about picking it up one day, but now I forget which one had it. :(

  2. Owen Says:

    Which is why you fail as always, lol. Watch Shana already!

    The shape of the scoop might have affected it; don’t think it’s everyday that you get your ice-cream scooped by something resembling a fireplace poker, if any. And I recommend looking for the melonpan.


Leave a Reply

